skip to main content
Home  /  Governance


The Caltech Investment Office reports jointly to the Institute's president and the Board of Trustees' Investment Committee, which has primary responsibility for setting investment policy, overseeing policy implementation, and approving major investments. The committee meets at least quarterly to discuss and review asset allocation, investment policies, new investments, and portfolio performance and interacts frequently between meetings to discuss specific investments and other opportunities as they arise. The members bring extraordinary expertise in both specific asset classes and the investment industry in general.

Timothy J. Sloan, Chair
Senior Advisor and Partner, Fortress Investments, LLC

Dr. Kneeland Youngblood, Vice Chair
Founding Partner, Chairman, and CEO of Pharos Capital Group

Joshua S. Friedman, Member
Co-Founder, Co-Chairman, and Co-Chief Executive Officer, Canyon Partners, LLC

G. Bradford Jones, Member
Founding Partner, Redpoint Ventures

Dr. David L. Lee (PhD '74), Member
Chair Emeritus, Caltech Board of Trustees
Managing General Partner, Clarity Partners, L.P.

A. Michael Lipper, Member
President and Chief Executive Officer, Lipper Advisory Services

Li Lu, Member
Founder and Chairman, Himalaya Capital

Dr. Fariborz Maseeh, Member
Founder, The Massiah Foundation

Deborah D. McWhinney, Member
Former Chief Executive Officer, Citi Enterprise Payments, Citi Bank

Amy Schulman, Member
Managing Partner, Polaris Partners

Dr. Thomas F. Rosenbaum, Ex Officio Member
President, Sonja and William Davidow Presidential Chair and
Professor of Physics, Caltech

David W. Thompson (MS '78), Ex Officio Member
Chair, Caltech Board of Trustees
President and CEO (retired), Orbital ATK, Inc.

Jane Buchan, Advisory Participant
CEO, Martlet Asset Management, LLC

Lance N. West (MS '83), Advisory Participant
Retired Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Centerbridge Partners Europe, L.L.P.